Home > Raiding > Anub’arak – Bane of my existence

Anub’arak – Bane of my existence

There has been a lot of talk about ToC, ToGC.  Many people really abhore the fact that we now have basically 4 raid lockouts for a single raid that occurs in a single very boring location.  On the other hand, I just recently started raiding 25-mans and frankly, I need the freaking emblems!  I’ve got a trophy just sitting in my bag waiting for me to collect another 75 emblems of triumph so I can purchase my tier chestpiece.   In addition, I know that I’m missing a few necessary upgrades from the raid (*cough* *trinkets* *cloak* *neck* *off-hand* *cough*).  Not to mention….I have a feral set to start upgrading as well. /sigh the life of a druid with potentially 4 or 5 sets of gear.

Anyway, on to what I originally started this post to talk about…. Anub’arak in ToGC.  My guild, idiocracy, has been working on this boss for a week or two and I think we might finally down him tonight.  Last night we spent probably about 15 to 20 attempts on him and our very last attempt of the night got him to 8%.  So, in preparation for this event….I’ve downloaded fraps and windows media encoder in hopes of showcasing my very first resto druid video of our realm-first Anub’arak kill!  Here’s to hoping it doesn’t lag me out too badly and prevent me from healing my penetrating cold targets.

On the subject of penetrating cold and healing in phase 3 of this fight….Cows of Cows Loves Cake has a very good post about how he heals it and raiding addons here.  As of right now, I’ve specced and glyphed for healing touch for the Anub’arak fight.  My talent spec is as follows in the screenshot:

WoWScrnShot_102909_203753

When in this spec, I also equip my old-school Idol of the Avian Heart from Moroes back in Kara and bump up my haste to 577 with a few choice pieces.  This gives me an 0.826 second healing touch cast, healing for around 6-7k, and helps me keep up with 2 penetrating cold targets during phase 3.  Needless to say, *crossing fingers for realm-first Anub’arak ToGC kill* tonight.  Wish us luck and hopefully in a day or two I’ll have a resto druid POV video ready and posted.

  1. November 1, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Hmmmm I think my guild has finally got the first 2 phases down enough that tomorrow night we’ll get a shot at phase 3. I’m am freaking out a teeny bit – it sounds pretty hardcore and for some stupid reason my Vuhdo isn’t showing the raid symbols so I’m gonna have to work that one out still eeeek!

    I’ve been meaning to look up Healing Touch builds, and thankfully you’ve linked yours so I think I’ll just pinch that for the night 😛

    Also how naughty is that Penetrator add on…. my guildies as if they have nothing better to do(seriously dps need to learn how to do something other than auto attack 😛 ) keep whispering me cheeky messages 😦

    Hope you get him down and get the realm first!

    Lath

    • November 1, 2009 at 2:18 pm

      @Lath
      Yea, actually phase 3 is pretty hardcore. Unfortunately, I can’t help you out with Vuhdo cause I’m a grid-chick. The issue is the raid members that get Penetrating Cold can die from literally the first tick of it if 1) they don’t pop their major frost protection potion, 2) don’t pop a healthstone, or 3) don’t have a cooldown to use such as a bubble, ice block, cloak, etc. So we have assigned all our raid members to use something at certain points during phase 3. The other issue is as follows: the raid icons on grid fall over before the last tick of penetrating cold has hit the player, so we have to make sure that all the players are at 50% or they have a chance of dying from the penetrating cold tick + leeching swarm tick.

      Yep, I use a healing touch build for phase 3. I am going to have to make one change to it though, threat is an issue for our healers, so I’m going to take some points out of nature’s bounty since I don’t use those spells during the fight and stick them in subtletly. That should help with me at least generating more aggro than I’d like while healing.

      Haha, I don’t know that anyone in our guild is running Penetrator, at least I’m not getting any cheeky messages whispered to me yet 😛

      Thanks! I hope we get our realm first, still haven’t down Anub quite yet, maybe tonight 😀

      Fîrewood

  1. November 12, 2009 at 12:48 am

Leave a Reply

