Home > Uncategorized > My Blog Personality

My Blog Personality

So, just yesterday I read Keredria’s post over on Tree of Life called Blog Personalities and was rather amused.  I’m familiar with the MBTI since during my first year of medical school they had all of us students take the “quiz/exam” to determine all our personality types.  I believe the goal in the end is to correlate our personality types with medical specialties and also to see if they change at all during the course of medical school (we have to take it again in our 4th year I believe).  Needless to say, my results indicated that I am an ISTJ.

ISTJs (Introversion, Sensing, Thinking, Judgment):

“ISTJs thrive on organization. They keep their lives and environments well-regulated. They bring painstaking attention to detail in their work and will not rest until a job is well completed. They are often dissatisfied with unresolved issues, whether in life or in fiction.

ISTJs are faithful, logical, organized, sensible, and earnest traditionalists. They earn success by thoroughness and dependability. Shutting out distractions, they take a practical, logical approach to their endeavors. Realistic and responsible, they work steadily toward their goals. They enjoy creating order in both their professional and personal lives.

Despite their focus on their internal world, ISTJs prefer dealing with the present and the factual. Keen observers of life, they weigh various options when making decisions. ISTJs are well-prepared for most eventualities and have a good understanding of most situations. They believe in practical objectives, and they value traditions and loyalty.”


So apparently, according to the Keirsey Temperament Sorter I’m an Inspector:

“Inspectors are careful and thorough in examining people and institutions. Comprising about 6 to 10 percent of the population, Inspectors are decisive in practical affairs. These guardians of institutions are perhaps best described as dependable: Inspectors are people of their word, intent on preserving social and family values. At home and at work, Inspectors reliably examine the people and products that fall under their responsibility—unobtrusively ensuring uniform quality and demanding that certain standards of conduct are maintained.

In both their professional and personal lives, individuals of this type are rather quiet and serious. Inspectors are extraordinarily persevering and dependable. The thought of dishonoring a contract would appall a person of this type. When they give their word, they give their honor. Inspectors can be counted on to conserve the resources of the institution they serve and bring to their work a practical point of view. They perform their duties without flourish or fanfare; therefore, the dedication they bring to their work can go unnoticed and unappreciated.

While not directly seeking leadership positions, Inspectors are often placed in such roles. They build a reputation for reliable, stable, and consistent performance that inspires others to select them to lead. Inspectors use their past experience and their factual knowledge in their decision making.

For Inspectors, love means commitment, steadiness, and consistency. Inspectors expect themselves and their mates to be responsible, practical, and dependable. When in a relationship, they behave appropriately for what the situation or their role demands. For example, if the relationship is in the courting stage, the Inspector will exhibit courting behaviors, such as giving boxes of candy, red roses, and presents. These are worthwhile and important traditions to uphold and observe because they give direct evidence of commitment.”

Now to get to the actual point of this post….Keredria found an interesting tool called the Typealyzer.  Basically, you can type in the website of a blog and it analyzes the writing style to spit back out a MBTI for the blogsite.  Kind of interesting, not scientifically validated, but fun nonetheless.  I find personalities deeply interesting and so I thought it was fascinating to see what kind of “personality” my blog site has.  So, my results indicated that Tree Haelz is of the INTP variety or “The Thinkers.”

INTPs (The Analyzer as I would call them) are:

“The logical and analytical type. They are especially attuned to difficult creative and intellectual challenges and always look for something more complex to dig into. They are great at finding subtle connections between things and imagine far-reaching implications.

They enjoy working with complex things using a lot of concepts and imaginative models of reality. Since they are not very good at seeing and understanding the needs of other people, they might come across as arrogant, impatient and insensitive to people that need some time to understand what they are talking about.”

“INTPs are pensive, analytical folks. They may venture so deeply into thought as to seem detached, and often actually are oblivious to the world around them.

Precise about their descriptions, INTPs will often correct others (or be sorely tempted to) if the shade of meaning is a bit off. While annoying to the less concise, this fine discrimination ability gives INTPs so inclined a natural advantage as, for example, grammarians and linguists.

INTPs are relatively easy-going and amenable to almost anything until their principles are violated, about which they may become outspoken and inflexible. They prefer to return, however, to a reserved albeit benign ambiance, not wishing to make spectacles of themselves.”

I don’t know about you guys, but the descriptions of ISTJ and INTP aren’t really all that different.  I can see portions of both that may or may not be evident either in my personal life and/or my blog.  Guess it goes to show you that we all exhibit certain aspects of different personality types.  In addition, all things like this are a range, no one is entirely one or the other.  What I mean by this is that no one is completely an extrovert or only introverted.  We display a range of behavior that is somewhere in between the two extremes.

I think I learned a little bit about myself from this activity.  In addition, I hope that you guys as my readers also learned a little bit about me and about what you can expect from my blog.  I do tend to analyze the game, healing, and healing-styles.  In general, I believe those are the types of things I think about related to WoW and the types of things you can expect to see me blogging about.  I love to talk about resto druid healing, especially in light of the upcoming changes with patch 3.3.  There are a lot of changes to be made, not only with gearing, but also gems, our preferred stats, and healing-styles.  I know my blog is relatively new, so if logical, analytical discussions about the new upcoming ICC bosses interests you, stick around!  Suggestions are also welcome and I would love to hear from any of my readers – feel free to email me at treehaelz@gmail.com.

So my question to my readers is:  What class/spec of healer do you play and do you know what your MBTI is?

Fîrewood



  1. xanaduu
    January 7, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Hi
    I clicked the links to you MTBI tests and lo and behold it says I am a healer

    Resto is my personality type how cool is that

    Xana

    Thanks for the blog

  2. December 29, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Hi there! 🙂
    I just found your blog but it’s rather obvious that I’ve got a lot of interesting reading to do here in order to catch up! I’m honored that you’re linking to my blog by the way. I guess you might know it then but I play a resto druid 🙂 My MBTI type is either INTP or INTJ, I’ve had both in different tests.

    Hope you’ve had a great Christmas! Take care!

  3. Anasarca
    December 17, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    You know that I’m INFP. You probably think I’m an “E”, not an “I”… but it’s true, I need my privacy and alone-time to recharge my batteries. 🙂

  4. December 4, 2009 at 1:35 am

    My personality profile is an ESFJ and my blog articles are generally ESTPs though some of them are ESTJs too 🙂

    Cass is surprisingly very similar – same personality type as me which is a bit boring for both of us lol.

  5. Kae
    December 3, 2009 at 8:34 am

    You may find this interesting, then: in late summer I started an MBTI survey of warcraft players. I haven’t updated the results in nearly two months, but at last count I had 730 responses. Druids were one of the numerous ones being as the survey was started on my (very druid) blog, but I got a lot of other classes’ responding as well. If you’re curious, check here for the survey and results posts.

    Of course, all of the data was submitted by the volunteer’s own opinion of themselves, so their MBTI may be quite off… but it was still quite an interesting project. I’m considering updating the results while I’m on vacation over the holidays 🙂

    • December 4, 2009 at 6:08 pm

      @Kae Well, actually I have already taken a quick peak at your MBTI survey results. I thought they were very interesting, amazing how so many people that play WoW are introverts. Though sometimes you’d never know from the very flashy/showy way some players talk on vent. There’s something about being able to be yourself completely when you never have to actually meet someone else in person. I’ll be watching for an updated results post from you then soon 🙂

      @Lath Awesome, so you’re a hostess of the world eh, a people person? You’re the kind of person I’m jealous of. One of those people who light up a room. Actually I’m a bit jealous that you have someone to blog with. I’m flying solo 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

